ANU Malaysia Institute Seminar Series 2021

The 2021 ANU Malaysia Institute Seminar Series showcases cutting-edge research by leading and emerging scholars based primarily in Australia and Malaysia. It aims to promote research particularly in the social sciences and humanities, and ultimately further discussions and collaborations among Malaysian Studies scholars in Australia, Malaysia and globally. The series will run once a month for the remainder of the academic year virtually via Zoom, and will subsequently be made available online for public viewing. This series is organised by the Malaysia Institute of the Australian National University, in collaboration with the School of Social Sciences in Universiti Sains Malaysia, Penang.

Schedule (Registrations for seminars will open two weeks before the event)

27 July (Tue), 5pm-6:10pm AEST (3pm -4:10pm MYT)

Jawi: sacred and secular

Dr Mulaika Hijjas (SOAS, London) Jawi: identity and controversy

26 Aug (Thu), 4pm-5:10pm AEST (2pm-3:10pm MYT)

Disinformation in Malaysia: from cybertroopers to anti-fake news laws

Dr Ross Tapsell (Australian National University) Video recording on Youtube

30 Sep (Thu), 4pm - 5:10pm AEST (2pm-3:10pm MYT)

Other ways of remembering

Dr Lye Tuck-Po (Universiti Sains Malaysia) Video recording coming soon

21 Oct (Thu), 4pm-5:10pm AEDT (1pm-2:10pm MYT)

Malay Studies, Autonomous Knowledge and Decolonial Thought

Prof Syed Farid Alatas (National University of Singapore) Register here

11 Nov (Thu), 4pm-5:10pm AEST (1pm-2:10pm MYT)

Title TBA

Dr Linda A. Lumayag (Universiti Malaysia Sarawak)

2 Dec (Thu), 4pm -5:10pm (1pm-2:10pm MYT)

Halalising your lifestyle: Halal hype in Malaysia

Dr Eva Nisa (Australian National University)

Flyer

About this site Updated:  21 December 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, Malaysia Institute/Page Contact:  CAP Web Services Team