The Malaysia Institute is comprised of academic specialists, PhD candidates, postgraduate and undergraduate students, and professional staff.

Our people are from a range of academic fields across ANU, as well as other universities in Australia and Malaysia.

The Director of the Institute is Dr Ross Tapsell, Lecturer, Department of Gender, Media and Culture, ANU College of Asia and the Pacific. Ross’ main research interests focus on new, digital technologies and their relationship to culture, nationalism, media and politics in Southeast Asia. His ongoing research interests focus on the changing information societies of the Asian region and how this affects freedom of expression, media freedom, political participation and elections.

Ross is supported by an eight-member Advisory Committee drawn from different parts of the University, post graduate students, and interested groups outside the University. Current Advisory Committee members are:

Name School/Department
Assoc Prof Greg Fealy Coral Bell School
Mr Miles Kupa Coral Bell School
Mr Julian Bowen Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade
Dr John Funston Coral Bell School
Ms Nur Diana Anuar ANU College of Asia and the Pacific
Dr Amrita Malhi Coral Bell School
Dr Mary Kilcline Cody School of Culture, History and Language
Mr Teck Chi Wong Cawford School
Joshua Neoh ANU College of Law
Malaysia Institute advisory committee

About this site Updated:  21 December 2017/Responsible Officer:  Director, Malaysia Institute/Page Contact:  CAP Web Services Team